Postgraduate research conference 2017

Monday 3 April 2017 in George Begg Building

PGR conference programme coming soon

The annual PGR Conference organised by the School of Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil Engineering will be held this year on Monday 3 April 2017. The conference enables PGR students from a range of disciplines to showcase their achievements and research highlights and to present their work to the wider community.

The day consists of 20 minute presentations, a poster session, lunch and an evening social event.

Prizes and awards

To celebrate the event, attendees are invited to attend an evening social event and award ceremony. In addition to gaining recognition, experience and an important addition to the CV, the selected finalists can expect to take home a certificate of achievement and cash prizes.

Important dates

  • 24 January - Conference abstract writing workshop

  • 31 January - Abstract submission deadline

  • 13 February - Abstract Acceptance Notification

  • 14 February - Conference Registration Opens

  • 8 March - Conference paper writing workshop

  • 20 March - Paper and posters submission deadline

  • 27 March - Conference presentation workshop

Keynote speaker

Dr Hao Lee is an alumnus PhD student of Mechanical Engineering. Since his graduation in 2015, he has undertaken the role of SIMULIA Solution Consultant at Dassault Systemes in Warrington, UK. Dr Lee will share both his experiences researching at the University of Manchester as well as the transition to his current role in the industry.


Abstract submission deadline: 31st January 2017

Email to as pdf doc

Paper submission deadline: 20th March 2017

Email to as pdf doc

Conference topics

The conference includes but is not limited to the following specific disciplines:

  • Aerospace engineering
  • Bio-engineering
  • Climate change
  • Innovative manufacturing
  • Management of projects
  • Modelling and simulation
  • Nuclear engineering
  • Offshore energy and coastal engineering
  • Structural and fire engineering

Contacts us

For general enquiries:

Resource groups and Scientific Committee for the conference will be supported by:

Structures Building & Geotechnics: Dr Domenico Lombardi
Solids Dynamics & Materials: Dr Kali Babu-Katnam
Fluids: Dr Andrea Cioncolini
Manufacturing: Dr Glen Cooper
Project Management & Sustainability: Dr Maria Sharmina
Chair of Conference Committee: Dr Ben Rogers

2017 conference organising committee:

Ali Jabran; Asad Albostami; Jing Jin; Kurdo Abdulla; Maria Doufa; Rwayda Al Hamd; Siobhan Bourke; and Zainab Sedqi.

▲ Up to the top